The Codex Sinaiticus and the Manuscripts of Mt Sinai in the Collections of the National Library of Russia

THE HISTORY OF THE ACQUISITION OF THE SINAI BIBLE BY THE RUSSIAN GOVERNMENT IN THE CONTEXT OF RECENT FINDINGS IN RUSSIAN ARCHIVES1

A.V. Zakharova

The study is concerned with the history of a treasure of Christian letters, the celebrated Sinai Bible that Prof. Constantine Tischendorf discovered in St Catherine Monastery and brought to Russia in 1859. This history was governed by various factors: Prof. Tischendorf's scholarly interests; controversies among Sinai brethren; complicated ecclesiastical and administrative status of Sinai Archbishopric; rivalries between Jerusalem and Constantinople Patriarchies; interests of Orthodox Christian communities in Ottoman Empire; Russia's international prestige and role in political and ecclesiastical developments in 19th-century Eastern Christian community. All these determined both the intricacy of Sinai Bible acquisition by Russia, and the ambiguity of historiographical representation2.

This paper intends to avoid ethical judgment on matters like the appropriateness of alienating the treasure or individual responsibility and intrinsic motivation of persons involved.

Our principal goal is to publish new Russian archives related to the acquisition . We recognize that it will not suffice to reconstruct the complete and unbiased history of the Sinai Bible3. This would require comprehensive investigation in a broader range of sources including various archives, and above all, those kept at St Catherine's on Mount Sinai.

Discovery, publication and acquisition of the Sinai Bible were described by Constantine Tischendorf in detail4. Here are the main points.

In 1844, Tischendorf discovered a part of the Bible at Mt Sinai Monastery, and obtained it for Frederick Augustus II King of Saxony. In February 1859, being commissioned by the Russian Government to find and purchase old manuscripts, the scholar discovered a greater part of the same codex at St Catherine's. Intending to publish the treasure, he spared no effort in order to acquire the manuscript. The brethren wished to present the Bible to Alexander II in appreciation of Russian Imperial patronage for the community. Official donation could not take place until the newly elected head of the community, Archimandrite Cyril, was ordained as Archbishop of Sinai. The Patriarch of Jerusalem, however, was opposed to the promotion of Rev. Cyril. In August 1859, Tischendorf went to Constantinople to seek assistance from Prince A.B. Lobanov-Rostovsky, Russian minister at the Ottoman court. Then, without waiting for Rev. Cyril's ordination, the scholar decided to take the manuscript to Petersburg on loan for publishing purposes. Having obtained a letter of guarantee from Prince Lobanov-Rostovsky (dated 10 September /Old style/ 1859), and consent from the brethren, he took the manuscript away on 16/28 September. When the 4-volume luxury edition of Sinai Bible was completed in 1862, C. Tischendorf presented the original ancient manuscript to Emperor Alexander II. Meanwhile, the question of transferring the manuscript to the full possession of the Russian Sovereign remained unresolved for some years. In 1869, the new Archbishop of Sinai, Callistratus, and the monastic community, signed the official certificate of presenting the manuscript to the Czar. The Russian Government, in turn, bestowed the Monastery with 9000 rubles and decorated the Archbishop and some of the brethren with orders5.

The story has been well known and repeatedly published in many scholarly and popular editions6. However, between 1860s and 1880s, and then in 1930s (when the Soviet Government sold the manuscript to the British Museum), the press set rumors of the manuscript being presented to Russia without the brethren's consent or any compensation7.

Doubts as to the appropriateness of the steps taken by Tischendorf and the Russian Government towards the Sinai Monastery were represented in the article New Documents on Constantine Tischendorf and the Codex Sinaiticus published by Ihor Ševčenko in 19648. The author distrusted the Tischendorf version and referred to Archbishop Cyril's papers he found on Mt Sinai, and some previous publications, in reconstructing the actual situation.

Ševčenko proposes the following manuscript acquisition version. He assumes that Tischendorf and Archimandrite Cyril made a verbal arrangement in 1859 on presenting the Bible to Emperor Alexander II in return to Russian minister's support in confirming Cyril's appointment as Archbishop of Sinai. But according to the official agreement, testified by the letter of Prince Lobanov-Rostovsky of 10 September /Old style/ 1859, and by Tischendorf's affidavit of 16/28 September 1859, the Sinai community only consented to lend the treasure to Tischendorf for publication. The manuscript was to be returned to the monastery on demand. Correspondence between Tischendorf and Archbishop Cyril is not indicative of the latter's consent on presenting the Bible to Alexander II. On the contrary, Archbishop Cyril's memorandum published by Ševčenko and written between 1867 and 1869 runs as follows:

<> neither did the Community of Sinai ever contemplate nor did it deliberate in common upon any idea of offering or donating it to the Russian Imperial Government. Quite to the contrary, many [monks] were displeased even with its temporary cession, and from that time forth found the pretext for launching periodic accusations against their Archbishop, Kyr Cyril. Kyr Cyril, the Patriarch of Jerusalem, having learned [?] [of the affair], and being opposed in 1859, for reasons of his own, to the promotion of Kyr Cyril to the Archbishopric of Sinai <>, in addition to leveling other vain and false accusations against Kyr Cyril - they were shown to be such after official investigation - also accused Kyr Cyril to the effect that His Grace had allegedly donated the manuscript in question to Russia in order to gain Her protection and to obtain his installation and consecration to the Archbishopric of Sinai. <> Such behavior on the part of the Patriarch of Jerusalem called forth an affidavit of Prince Lobanov, under the date 1/13 November 1859, to the effect that the manuscript had been given to Mr. Tischendorf ad interim, and that it would be returned to the Monastery as its possession9.

Consequently, according to Ševčenko, Tischendorf was by no means authorized to present the Bible to Alexander II in 1862. The transfer of the manuscript into the ownership of the Russian Government was eventually formalized by Cyril's successor, Archbishop Callistratus, through the diligence of Russian minister in Constantinople, Count N.P. Ignatyev, in 1869. Ševčenko suggests that both financial and political pressures were exerted to attain the goal10. In particular, referring to the extracts from Ignatyev's letters published by A.A. Dmitrievsky, the author maintains that in 1867 the minister arrested monastic earnings from Russia, and in 1869 withheld the monies and decorations bestowed by Russian Emperor on the Sinai brethren in compensation for the Bible.

Thus, according to I. Ševčenko, although the Sinai community felt no desire to present the Bible to the Russian Government, actions taken by Tischendorf and the pressures exerted by Count Ignatyev made them, after a decade of confrontation, yield their treasure to Russia. This view has been widely recognized and is still dominating scholarly opinion, both in Russia and elsewhere.

Subsequent archival studies have provided fresh insight into Russian acquisition of the Sinai Bible. Thus in 1993, K. Aland published more than a dozen letters written by Constantine Tischendorf to his wife Angelica, adding significant details to his own story of the Sinai Bible acquisition, and attesting to his straight dealings with the Sinai Monastery11.

Among extremely rich sources on the history of the Codex Sinaiticus in the Russian State History Archives (RGIA) in St-Petersburg and the Archive of Foreign Policy of the Russian Empire (AVPRI) in Moscow are: letters by Tischendorf, Archbishop Callistratus, Russian consuls in Egypt and ministers in Constantinople (A.B. Lobanov-Rostovsky, E.P. Novikov, N.P. Ignatyev), reports to His Majesty the Emperor, and extensive correspondence between Government Ministries and departments supervising the Sinai Bible case at different stages between 1859 and 1871. Almost none of the sources were examined or published in investigating the history of the treasure. Analysis of archival findings allows a more objective and comprehensive insight in Russian acquisition of the Codex Sinaiticus. The successive stages are described below.

Main page


1 The article, first published in Montfaucon. Études de paléographie, de codicologie et de diplomatique, Moscow-St.Petersburg, 2007, pp. 209-266 ), is translated into English by M. Dubyanskaya and revised by the author.
The author is obliged to Mr. Robert McCabe, and the Directorial Board of the National Library of Russia for support to this study; and to the leaders of Arkhiv vneshnej politiki Rossijskoj Imperii (the Archive of Foreign Policy of Russian Empire, hereinafter: AVPRI) and Rossijskij gosudarstvenny istoriceskij arkhiv (the Russian State History Archives, hereinafter: RGIA) for permission to publish archival documents. (back to the text)

2 For source material, see: I. Ševčenko, "New Documents on Constantine Tischendorf and the Codex Sinaiticus", in Scriptorium, XVIII/1, 1964, pp. 55-80 (reprinted in I. Ševčenko, Byzantium and the Slavs in Letters and Culture, Cambridge (Mass.), Napoli, 1991, pp. 187-227). (back to the text)

3 For purposes of this paper, documents in French and Modern Greek are presented in original spelling and punctuation. Russian documents are published in English translation. For the original texts see the Russian version. More important documents are reproduced in whole, others by extracts. Now the author is preparing to publish a full set of material from Russian archives relating to the acquisition of the Sinai Bible. (back to the text)

4 C. von Tischendorf. Die Sinaibibel. Ihre Entdeckung, Herausgabe und Erwerbung, Leipzig, 1871. See also other works by Tischendorf quoted by Ševčenko. "New Documents on Constantine Tischendorf and the Codex Sinaiticus", in Scriptorium, p. 57, n. 14. (back to the text)

5 As far as we know, information on the reward was first published by C.R. Gregory (Novum Testamentum Graece. Ad antiquissimos testes denuo recensuit apparatum criticum apposuit Constantinus Tischendorf. Editio octava critica maior. Vol. III. Prolegomena scripsit C.R. Gregory, Leipzig, 1884, pp. 351-352). (back to the text)

6 See works mentioned by Ševčenko. Op. cit., pp. 56-58, nn. 6-11, 15, 23.(back to the text)

7 Cf. H. Brugsch, Wanderung nach den Türkis-Minen und der Sinai-Halbinsel, Leipzig, 1866, pp. 4748; G. Ebers, Durch Gosen zum Sinai, Leipzig, 1872, pp. 302309; P. Schaff. Through Bible Lands, New York, 1878, p. 191; Archimandrite Grzegorz Peradze, "Dokumenty, dotyczące zagadnień odnalezienia i tekstukodeksu Synajskiego", in Ἐλπίς 8/2, 1934, pp. 134135. (back to the text)

8 Ševčenko, "New Documents". (back to the text)

9 For the full Greek text with English translation see ibid, pp. 69-71. (back to the text)

10 Ibid, pp. 77-80, nn. 75, 84, 85. (back to the text)

11 K. Aland, "Konstantin von Tischendorf (18151874). Neutestamentliche Textforschung damals und heute", in Sitzungsberichte der Sächsischen Akademie der Wissenschaften zu Leipzig Philologisch-historische Klasse, 133/2, 1993, pp. 3-47. (back to the text)

© The National Library of Russia, 2009

Синайский кодекс и рукописи Синая в фондах Российской национальной библиотеки

История приобретения Синайской Библии Россией в свете новых документов
из российских архивов

А.В. Захарова

Настоящее исследование посвящено судьбе одного из выдающихся памятников христианской письменности — знаменитой Синайской Библии, найденной в монастыре св. Екатерины профессором Константином Тишендорфом и вывезенной им в Россию в 1859 г. На судьбу этой рукописи повлияли многие факторы разного порядка: научные интересы профессора Тишендорфа, разногласия внутри общины Синайского монастыря, сложность церковно-административного статуса Синайской архиепископии, соперничество Иерусалимского и Константинопольского патриархата, интересы православного населения Османской Империи, международный престиж России и ее роль в политической и церковной жизни христианского Востока в 19 в. Всем этим обусловлена как сложность самой истории приобретения Синайской Библии Россией, так и неоднозначность отражения этих событий в историографии.2

В настоящей работе мы стремились воздерживаться от суждений по вопросам этического порядка — таких как правомерность отчуждения памятника, личная ответственность и внутренняя мотивация поступков лиц, принимавших непосредственное участие в этом деле.

Своей главной задачей мы считаем публикацию новых документов из российских архивов о приобретении Синайской Библии. Мы отдаем себе отчет в том, что этого недостаточно для воссоздания полной и объективной истории Синайской Библии.3 Необходимо всестороннее исследование проблемы с более широким привлечением материалов, хранящихся в различных архивах, — прежде всего, в монастыре св. Екатерины на Синае.

История открытия, издания и приобретения Синайской Библии подробно описана самим Константином Тишендорфом.4 Вот ее основные моменты.

В 1844 г. Тишендорф обнаружил в Синайском монастыре часть Библии и приобрел ее для саксонского короля Фридриха Августа II. В феврале 1859 г., путешествуя за счет русского правительства с целью отыскания и приобретения для России древних рукописей, ученый нашел в монастыре св. Екатерины большую часть этого же кодекса. Вознамерившись издать текст памятника, он приложил все усилия к тому, чтобы приобрести саму рукопись. Братия выразила желание поднести Библию в дар Александру II в знак признательности за покровительство, оказываемое обители Российской Империей. Официальное поднесение рукописи не могло состояться до тех пор, пока избранный братией новый глава монастыря, архимандрит Кирилл, не будет рукоположен в сан архиепископа Синайского. Этому препятствовал Иерусалимский патриарх. В августе 1859 г. Тишендорф отправился в Константинополь и просил содействия русского посланника при дворе султана Османской Империи князя А.Б. Лобанова-Ростовского. Затем, не дожидаясь рукоположения Кирилла, ученый решил взять рукопись в Петербург на условиях временного держания, для осуществления издания. Заручившись гарантийным письмом князя Лобанова-Ростовского (от 10 сентября /ст. ст./ 1859 г.) и согласием братии, 16/28 сентября он увез рукопись из монастыря. В 1862 г., по окончании печатания роскошного четырехтомного издания Синайской Библии, К. Тишендорф вручил древний оригинал императору Александру II. Тем не менее, вопрос о переходе рукописи в полную собственность русского монарха оставался нерешенным еще несколько лет. В 1869 г. новый архиепископ Синайский Каллистрат и братия монастыря подписали официальный документ, удостоверяющий дарение рукописи русскому царю. В ответ российское правительство пожертвовало обители 9000 рублей и наградило орденами архиепископа и некоторых других монахов.5

Описанная история хорошо известна и неоднократно повторена в многочисленных научных и популярных изданиях.6 Тем не менее, еще в 60-е - 80-е годы XIX в., а затем в 30-е годы XX в. (в связи с продажей рукописи советским правительством Британскому музею) в печати стали появляться слухи о том, что братия не давала согласия на дарение рукописи России и не получила никакого вознаграждения.7

Сомнения в правомерности действий Тишендорфа и русского правительства по отношению к Синайскому монастырю были выражены в опубликованной в 1964 г. статье И.И. Шевченко "New Documents on Constantine Tischendorf and the Codex Sinaiticus".8 Не доверяя версии, изложенной самим Тишендорфом, исследователь привлекает обнаруженные им на Синае бумаги архиепископа Кирилла и некоторые другие опубликованные ранее материалы для создания своей реконструкции ситуации.

В изложении И.И. Шевченко история приобретения рукописи выглядит следующим образом. Он допускает, что в 1859 г. между Тишендорфом и архимандритом Кириллом существовала устная договоренность о том, что Библия будет поднесена императору Александру II взамен на поддержку русского посла в утверждении кандидатуры Кирилла в качестве архиепископа Синайского. Тем не менее, согласно официальной договоренности, зафиксированной в расписке князя Лобанова-Ростовского от 10 сентября /ст. ст./ 1859 г. и в расписке Тишендорфа от 16/28 сентября 1859 г., синайская братия соглашалась дать памятник Тишендорфу только временно, для подготовки издания. По первому требованию рукопись должна была быть возвращена в монастырь. Из переписки Тишендорфа с архиепископом Кириллом не следует, что последний когда-либо давал согласие на поднесение Библии Александру II. Напротив, в опубликованной Шевченко записке архиепископа Кирилла, составленной между 1867-1869 гг., говорится:

" <…> Синайская братия никогда не замышляла и не ставила на общее рассмотрение вопроса о поднесении или дарении рукописи российскому императорскому правительству; напротив, многие осуждали даже временное отчуждение рукописи и усматривали в этом повод обвинять архиепископа Кирилла. Когда об этом узнал патриарх Иерусалимский Кирилл, в 1859 г. по своим собственным причинами не желавший возведения о. Кирилла в сан архиепископа Синайского <…>, то он обвинил его, будто тот подарил рукопись России для того, чтобы получить поддержку и добиться хиротонии и утверждения в сане архиепископа Синайского. <…> Такое поведение Иерусалимского патриарха вызвало необходимость в письме князя Лобанова от 1/13 ноября 1859, удостоверявшем, что рукопись дана г. Тишендорфу временно и должна быть возвращена монастырю как его собственность".9

Поэтому, заключает Шевченко, когда Тишендорф вручил Библию Александру II в 1862 г., он не имел на это никакого права. Окончательный переход рукописи в собственность русского правительства был оформлен при преемнике Кирилла архиепископе Каллистрате в 1869 г., стараниями русского посланника в Константинополе графа Н.П. Игнатьева. Шевченко предполагает, что для достижения этой цели использовались финансовые и политические средства давления.10 В частности, ссылаясь на опубликованные А.А. Дмитриевским выдержки из писем Игнатьева, исследователь указывает на то, что в 1867 г. посланник наложил секвестр на доходы монастыря, поступавшие из России, а в 1869 г. задерживал передачу денег и орденов, пожалованных синаитам российским императором за поднесение Библии.

Таким образом, из работы И.И. Шевченко следует, что синайская братия не желала дарить Библию русскому правительству, но в результате действий Тишендорфа и принуждения со стороны графа Игнатьева должна была после десятилетнего противостояния согласиться на уступку своего сокровища в пользу России. Эта точка зрения получила самое широкое распространение и до сих пор преобладает как среди зарубежных, так и среди отечественных ученых.

Дальнейшие исследования архивных документов проливают новый свет на историю приобретения Синайской Библии Россией. Так, в 1993 г. К. Аланд опубликовал около двух десятков писем Константина Тишендорфа к жене Ангелике, которые не только существенно дополняют историю приобретения Синайской Библии, изложенную самим ученым, но также свидетельствуют о честности и благонамеренности его действий по отношению к Синайскому монастырю.11

Богатейшие материалы по истории Синайского кодекса хранятся в фондах Российского Государственного Исторического Архива (РГИА) в С.-Петербурге и Архива Внешней Политики Российской Империи (АВПРИ) в Москве: письма Тишендорфа, архиепископа Каллистрата, русских консулов в Египте и посланников в Константинополе (А.Б. Лобанова-Ростовского, Е.П. Новикова, Н.П. Игнатьева), всеподданнейшие доклады и обширная переписка между министерствами и учреждениями, курировавшими дело о Синайской Библии на разных стадиях его развития (с 1859 по 1871 гг.). Почти все эти документы еще не привлекались для исследования судьбы памятника и не были опубликованы. На основании анализа этих архивных материалов у нас появилась возможность приблизиться к более объективному и полному представлению о том, как именно Синайский кодекс был приобретен Россией. Приступим к описанию основных этапов этого процесса.

Вернуться в начало


1 — Печатная версия статьи опубликована в сборнике Монфокон. Исследования по палеографии, кодикологии и дипломатике. Т. 1. М.-СПб., 2007. С. 209-266.
Автор благодарит г. Роберта МакКейба и дирекцию Российской Национальной Библиотеки за поддержку в осуществлении настоящего исследования, а также руководство Архива Внешней Политики Российской Империи (АВПРИ) и Российского Государственного Исторического Архива (РГИА) за разрешение опубликовать документы из этих хранилищ. (вернуться к тексту)

2 — Библиографию по этому вопросу см. в статье I. Ševčenko. New Documents on Constantine Tischendorf and the Codex Sinaiticus // Scriptorium. 1964. Vol. XVIII/1. P. 55-80 (перепечатана в книге I. Ševčenko. Byzantium and the Slavs in Letters and Culture. Cambridge (Mass.), Napoli. P. 187-227). (вернуться к тексту)

3 — В настоящей статье тексты документов на французском и новогреческом языках перепечатаны без изменений в орфографии и пунктуации подлинников. Документы на русском языке публикуются в современной орфографии, в соответствии с существующими правилами. Текст наиболее важных документов воспроизводится целиком, остальные даются в извлечениях. В настоящее время автором готовится полная публикация материалов российских архивов о приобретении Синайской Библии. (вернуться к тексту)

4 — C. von Tischendorf. Die Sinaibibel. Ihre Entdeckung, Herausgabe und Erwerbung. Leipzig, 1871. См. также другие работы Тишендорфа, цитируемые Ševčenko. Op. cit. P. 57, nt. 14. (вернуться к тексту)

5 — Насколько нам известно, эта информация о вознаграждении впервые появляется в печати у К.Р. Грегори (Novum Testamentum Graece. Ad antiquissimos testes denuo recensuit apparatum criticum apposuit Constantinus Tischendorf. Editio octava critica maior. Vol. III. Prolegomena scripsit C.R. Gregory. Leipzig, 1884. P. 351-352). (вернуться к тексту)

6 — Cм. работы, упоминаемые Ševčenko. New Documents... P. 56-58, nt. 6-11, 15, 23. (вернуться к тексту)

7 — Cм. Cf. H. Brugsch. Wanderung nach den Türkis-Minen und der Sinai-Halbinsel. Leipzig, 1866. S. 47–48; G. Ebers. Durch Gosen zum Sinai. Leipzig, 1872. S. 302–309; P. Schaff. Through Bible Lands. New York, 1878. P. 191; Archimandryta Grzegorz Peradze. Dokumenty, dotyczące zagadnień odnalezienia i tekstukodeksu Synajskiego // Ἐλπίς. 1934. T. 8/2. S. 134–135. (вернуться к тексту)

8 — Ševčenko. New Documents... (вернуться к тексту)

9 — Полный греческий текст с английским переводом см. Ibid. P. 69-70. (вернуться к тексту)

10 — Ibid. P. 77-80, nt.75, 84, 85. (вернуться к тексту)

11 — K. Aland. Konstantin von Tischendorf (1815–1874). Neutestamentliche Textforschung damals und heute // Sitzungsberichte der Sächsischen Akademie der Wissenschaften zu Leipzig Philologisch-historische Klasse. 1993. Bd. 133, Hft. 2. S. 3–47. (вернуться к тексту)

© Российская национальная библиотека, 2009