The 15-18th Century Women's French Court Dress.
(from the Print Department's collections)


    Starting from the ancient days, dress was not solely covering for the human body. Throughout history, clothing have always linked to art. Costume mirrors the actual ideal of the time and varies with the evolution of the society.
    Costume is not merely a craft, but an art which reacts to current art trends; and, conversely, other art forms are vast visual resources for learning the dress of any historic period. Through the study of fresco, sculpture and decorative arts, portrait and ganre painting we can research costume history.
    Since the 17th century, Paris has dictated Western fashion. No wonder that fashion magazines first appeared in France in the late 18th century. The "Golden Age" of periodicals for ladies lasted from the 1830s to the 1870s. Numerous women's magazines were important guides to the changing world of fashion. They not only featured the latest styles but provided information on the history of costume.
    In 1854, the magazine "Parisian Fashions" published a special album on the history of French stume from the Reign of Charles VII to the Reign of Louis XVI. 20 plates illustrated the development of both women's and men's court dress for the period of 1460-1780. The album represented hand coloured engravings by Gabriel Xavier Montaut, Adolphe Portier and Monnin by designs of Francois Claudius Compte-Calix.
    Compte-Calix (1813-1880) was a profilic artist whose poetic genre paintings, some having a sentimental theme, were exhibited at Salons in Paris almost every year, beginning in 1840. They had a great success, so many of them were reproduced on engravings and lithographs. Compte-Calix himself practiced lithography. He also was a well-known portraitist and illustrator who created a whole number of illustrations for Parisian fashion magazines.
The French Court of Charles VII (1460)
The French Court of Louis XII (1510)
The French Court of Henry IV (1600)
The French Court of Louis XIII  (1630)
The French Court of Louis XV (1715)


Home page | NLR on-line
National Library of Russia, 2004
print@nlr.ru

Российская национальная библиотека
Отдел эстампов Выставки online

Женский придворный костюм во Франции ХV-XVIII веков.
Одежда появилась в древнейшие времена, и всегда ее материальная составляющая сопрягалась с эстетический деятельностью человека. Костюм заключает в себе художественный образ, отражает идеал эпохи и изменяется в соответствии с переменами в жизни общества.
Костюм - это не просто утилитарный предмет, но произведение искусства со свойственными ему принципами художественной композиции. Он способен выразить тот или иной художественный стиль, впитав в себя его особенности. В свою очередь искусство различных эпох во всех своих формах (от фресок, скульптур, живописных портретов и жанровых картин до произведений прикладного искусства) дает ценнейший материал для изучения костюма.
С XVII в. европейская мода создается во Франции. В конце XVIII в. именно здесь появляются первые модные журналы, период расцвета которых приходися на 1830-е - 1870-е гг. Многочисленные периодические издания для дам и девиц были их верными советчиками в изменчивом мире моды, и не только удовлетворяли сиюминутным прихотям вкуса, но и давали сведения по история костюма.
В 1854 г. журнал "Парижские моды" выпустил альбом французских одежд со времен Карла VII до времен Людовика XVI. 20 листов отобразили развитие придворного костюма, как женского, так и мужского, с 1460 по 1780 г. Это были раскрашенные вручную гравюры Г.-К.Монто (Gabriel Xavier Montaut), А.Портье (Adolphe Portier) и Монена (Monnin) по рисункам Ф.-К.Конт-Кали (Francois Claudius Compte-Calix).
Конт-Кали (1813 - 1880) - живописец, жанровые картины которого, отмеченные сентиментально-поэтическим настроением, выставлялись в парижских Салонах с 1840 г. почти ежегодно. Они имели большой успех и зачастую тиражировались затем в гравюре и литографии. Конт-Кали и сам занимался литографией, а также был известен как портретист и иллюстратор. Им выполнено значительное число рисунков для модных парижских изданий.
Двор Карла VII (1460)
Двор Людовика XII (1510)
Двор Генриха IV (1600)
Двор Людовика XIII  (1630)
Двор Людовика XV (1715)

Главная | Отдел эстампов | Выставки
© Российская национальная библиотека, 1999
webmaster@nlr.ru